Can someone help me understand this?

Ok so I was skeptical about this series when it was Announced because I knew nothing about game of thrones so I just didn't bother to buy it when the new episodes came out but like all telltale games they become free so I tried the first episode I'm halfway in and it makes no sense. All I really understand it looks like there are two kinds of people and they are protecting thier "houses" but no idea what it means and what is the big deal about winter and it never coming sorry if this sounds stupid I'm a newbie to game of thrones.

Comments

• edited January 2017

Well it would be hard to tell you all that without dropping some major spoilers for the TV show, so if you want to watch that maybe don't read this. I'll try to give a spoiler-free description first.

There are several major houses in Westeros; the ones most important to the game right now are Stark (Honourable northern house, wolf sigil) and Lannister (western House, lion sigil), and their vassal houses Forrester, Bolton and Whitehill. House Lannister is in control of the Iron Throne, meaning they rule over the Seven Kingdoms (lands ruled by Stark, Tully, Lannister, Tyrell, Baratheon, Martell, Arryn, etc.). Trying to avoid spoilers, the Starks declare war on Lannisters to get revenge over a certain injustice, but things don't go as planned and the Starks are ambushed, which is where the game starts. You play as Gared Tuttle, squire to the Lord of House Forrester (a house more or less sworn to house Stark, and fighting for them in the war). You have to escape the ambush. The game is centered around House Forrester and it's fight to survive after it's force and lord is destroyed/killed at the ambush. So you play as multiple members of House Forrester. House Whitehill has an intact army and are old rivals of House Forrester, and they have the backing of the Boltons so yeah trouble there.