Optimus Prime & Max (through a loudspeaker?)

edited January 2007 in Game Support
Hey - just started the game and it looks great, the music is great, but the voices...have issues. No, this isn't a "WHERE IS BILL FARMER" post - the acting sounds perfectly fine - it's the actual sound quality that's the problem. Namely, there's a lot of distortion - Max sounds like he's got an enormous lisp, created by all this hissing when he talks - and Sam sounds like a robot - like his voice is coming from some deep metallic chamber. Sorry I can't give a more technical description but I'm no audio engineer. I have no idea what could be causing this. I'm using a Soundblaster X-Fi, and am running it in entertainment mode, using headphones, but I don't have any fancy features turned on - no EAX, no CMSS-3D, no 24-bit crystalizer, nothing that should interfere or alter the game's sounds.

I can confidently say this isn't just me mishearing the intended voice acting, as I know they didn't sound like this in the trailer or anything.

Comments

• edited November 2006
    Aerothorn wrote: »
    ... Sam sounds like a robot - like his voice is coming from some deep metallic chamber...

Maybe this'll be an important plot-point in Episode 2? I'm really looking forward to some cyborg-action...
  • edited November 2006
    Very funny:P

Unless you're saying you get this too. But it sure didn't seem intentional.

I'd try running the game on my other machine, but due to the authorization system I'm not sure that would be possible.

Edit: Apparently, it was just much more pronounced on the few voice samples I heard (motorcycle picture, moon picture) - most of it's fine, thought he sampling rate seems a bit low/hissy. Still, fun game:)
  • edited November 2006
    I get this too. I think it's just very high compression and I think it's VERY unfortunate. It ruins the gaming experience for me and I really hope they will offer another download with better quality.
  • edited November 2006