Sam & Max text-adventure, engine done: now we need content

Comments

• edited April 2010
    The engine was done in an evening and while the code is a mess, at least it works (in Firefox 3.6: sorry for users of other browsers [...] )
    so, uh, i clicked on the link you first posted and it doesn't show anything. I'm using chrome.

The thing about text adventures is, you have to read all the clues ;)
    Sam wrote:
    I can't use these things together ...
  • edited April 2010
    Can I just suggest maybe making a story that's not anything to do with the current series? This will be probably a whole lot easier, and all round more entertaining. I'd be really up for helping out with this but I can't be bothered to just rehash a load of Telltale's stories and characters! I'm a Javascript programmer and have done a fair bit of story writing in my time so I think this'd be great fun.
  • edited April 2010
    Sure, if you have a good suggestion... and if The Highway agrees. He's contributed as much as have, so it's as much his call as mine.

About the dependency on Firefox. Sorry, I told you it was quick and dirty: Firefox has a number of niceties that go beyond ecma262 and I've used them shamelessly: new Array methods, block scope variables, short function notation :)

I've been spending yesterday evening trying to find a good online editor (something like Mozilla Bespin) that can actually be used by people who don't mainly work with vi... long story short: I couldn't find any that allowed real-time colaboration and didn't cost an arm and a leg.
  • edited April 2010
    Haha, this is gold! Really good job on the engine, that programming is way beyond anything I could ever do. And you've actually managed to personify Sam and Max really well.
    Oh btw, you spelled "habit" wrong in the 3rd dialogue.
  • edited April 2010