When Dinosaurs Ruled the Earth banner

edited November 2011 in Jurassic Park
Please tell me that is not Comic Sans I saw on the "When Dinosaurs Ruled the Earth" banner in JP Episode 1. What happened to "spared no expense?". Hammond would have splurged for a commercial typeface. ;)

Comments

• edited November 2011
    It definitely isn't the same font as in the movie, I noticed this too. No, I'm not some rabid fan tearing the game apart, its just I'm a designer and I tent to stare at strange things like that, even when they are in the background.

It would be hilarious if it was comic sans, I have to go back and check it out.
  • edited November 2011
    TP3D wrote: »
    It definitely isn't the same font as in the movie, I noticed this too. No, I'm not some rabid fan tearing the game apart, its just I'm a designer and I tent to stare at strange things like that, even when they are in the background.

It would be hilarious if it was comic sans, I have to go back and check it out.

Speaking as a designer as well, comic sans should go extinct. :D
  • edited November 2011
    Comic Sans was released in 1994, and the "Ban Comic Sans" movement didn't begin until 1999, so clearly Hammond was using it before it was mainstream, and perhaps he was the one who commissioned it initially. Spared no expense indeed.
  • edited November 2011
    I don't get why people hate Comic Sans, I see it everyday. My school has FLYERS written in Comic Sans.
  • edited November 2011
    Of course it does, haha
  • edited November 2011
    I don't get why people hate Comic Sans, I see it everyday. My school has FLYERS written in Comic Sans.

Because it was never designed to be use on anything except Microsoft Bob, yet it's used all over the place. And people who know nothing about good type think Comic Sans is great when it's centered and fills the whole page.
  • edited November 2011
    Of course it does, haha

Hahaha indeed!
  • edited November 2011
    Welcome to Jurassic Park!!