Random Topic: Does anyone knows how to fix a somewhat torn/cut wire?

edited August 2007 in General Chat
The power adaptor for my laptop has recently suffered from a tear near the head of the circular plug(the part which connects to the laptop.) As such, it stop working unless I move the head at a 90 degree angle; bending the head inwards at the exposed wire. However, that seems to give less results each time I do it.

I have bought electrical tape, hoping that it will cover up the exposed wires, hence letting electricity flow once more. Unforunately, I have no luck and angle method seems to stop working.

Any ideas on how to fix it? I am thinking if severing the head from the wire and reattatching it would work, but I have no experience in doing that.

Comments

• edited August 2007
    Unfortunately I have no experience with repairing laptop power adaptor cables, nor do I know how those type of wires are structured, so I can't help. :/
  • edited August 2007
    Haha well I can say this.. it may work if you isolate each line.. open the wires and take the one side .. tape it.. take the other side.. tape that.. then tape it all together. Being a pc tech I cant advise this since the flow of electricity is crucial. BUT seeing how the battery buffers this you might as well try.. I used to do it all the time with old power cords and headphones... just... watch out this is live power XD
  • edited August 2007
    Kaldire wrote: »
    Haha well I can say this.. it may work if you isolate each line.. open the wires and take the one side .. tape it.. take the other side.. tape that.. then tape it all together. Being a pc tech I cant advise this since the flow of electricity is crucial. BUT seeing how the battery buffers this you might as well try.. I used to do it all the time with old power cords and headphones... just... watch out this is live power XD