Answers disappearing before I could choose

edited December 2012 in Game Support
Hello there!

I have a really weird issue, something that I don't think many others have since I couldn't find anything about it on the internet, nor does any of my friends have it. Sorry for the wall of text in advance!

So, my problem is: The game worked really fine through Ep. 1 till Ep. 4. When Ep. 5 came out and I downloaded it, I started playing. Saves were imported, okay it was working. However, I noticed something strange: sometimes, when it came to choosing an answer, they all disappeared and the game picked "..." for me, which is remaining silent. At first I thought it was intended as Lee was in shock or something, but after quite a few times I realised it was not the case. It only happened 1-2 times till we got back to the house from the hospital, but from there, it kept happening all the time. I'm stuck where that dead couple is on the bed (I try to avoid spoilers, these were all in the trailer, though I think if people try and help, they already played it through), since from there this happens all the time. Sometimes I can pick an answer at the couple, but after it all goes back to this buggy mode again. After that balcony scene, I kept pressing alt-f4 since i really couldn't pick any answers.
I don't know what causes this, I mean literally, the answers show up but disappear in that very second too and in 99% of the cases, the game picks to remain silent. If that's not an option, then it picks no.1 option.