Why doesn't telltale patch its games?

edited December 2012 in Game Support
Hi,

I really love Telltale games, I've played Monkey Island, Back to the Future and The Walking Dead so far.

The thing is that Telltale games are quite buggy. I can live with that, I'm a software developer so I can play around with files and drivers and stuff to make things work, and I have a lot of patience to deal with that kind of stuff.

But it has happened to me more than once that I recommend a game to a friend, they have some really annoying bugs (specially with TWD not carrying over their decisions between episodes) and they just don't know what to do. Sometimes I can help, others I just have no idea what to do (specially when they have completely different systems than mine).

And some of the bugs usually are quite old, I search trough the forums and I find people with the same issues from months ago. So my question is... why doesn't telltale patch their games? I've never... ever... seen a patch for a telltale game.

Will customer support get better? will they start patching games? should I just stop recommending telltale games to my friends because I'm tired dealing with problems they have?

Comments

• DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited December 2012
    Juanique99 wrote: »
    why doesn't telltale patch their games? I've never... ever... seen a patch for a telltale game.

In the past, instead of offering a patch for download, they released a new installer when issues were fixed. This was only announced in the Forums though, and therefore hard to notice for the public.

I do remember that happening for BTTF, ToMI and Puzzle Agent, Poker Night, Sam&Max and there were probably more.

With the recent games, such as TWD, patches are downloaded automatically on startup. There were several patches for TWD already.
    Easiest way to see them is to look at the filenames in
    \Steam\SteamApps\common\the walking dead\Pack\default
    or