The "whatever's on your mind" thread

Comments

• puzzleboxpuzzlebox Telltale Alumni
    edited October 2010
    Bomb scare at Holborn tube station (busy one, in central London). Can't seem to find any news about it - even the TFL website doesn't mention the station closure. We're only finding out via SMS from people who are there. Weird.

EDIT: All clear! Twitter was all over it. Still not a peep from the big news sites, even though it was a pretty big deal (apparently the entire area was shut down, offices evacuated etc). I wonder if that's prudent reporting on the part of the mainstream media, or an indicator of the greater responsiveness of social media.
  • edited October 2010
    Just came back from work (I work in a shop), and it turned out we had a break-in last night. The door was smashed and most of the cigarettes were gone. My manager, who lives above the shop, successfully slept through the whole thing, even with alarms going off! Probably just as well, or he might have been hit. Still, it was only a matter of time before we got the thieves. A shop down the road has had it happen to them quite a few times this year already.

^^^ It's good to hear no one was hurt during the bomb scare. I wonder if there wil be anything on the news.
  • edited October 2010
    doodo! wrote: »
    What a amazing story. I feel a movie coming on though...they are definitely going to cash in on this. Though it's a very inspiring and amazing story.

So what if they do make a movie about it? I certainly hope they do... it's an inspiring story. You seem to be of the mindset that if anything produces profit or is organized by a business then it's inherently evil, but that's just not true. Greed itself is terrible, but that doesn't mean that its products can't be amazing.
  • puzzleboxpuzzlebox Telltale Alumni
    edited October 2010
    I do wonder if those miners got paid overtime.
  • edited October 2010
    puzzlebox wrote: »
    I do wonder if those miners got paid overtime.